Skills Connect for Immigrants

woman writing on white board

ASPECT is proud to bring you the Skills Connect for Immigrants program in regions across the province. You have the skills, qualifications and experience BC needs and we look forward to helping you find that perfect employment fit. Our program provides an individual approach, tailored to meet your needs.

Eligibility criteria:

  • You became a permanent resident of Canada within the last 5 years, and
  • Your are unemployed or underemployed; and
  • Have an intermediate to advanced level of English language proficiency

If you’re eligible, we will:

  • assess your skills, qualifications and experiences;
  • provide targeted career counselling and career planning services;
  • provide job seeking skills and support and an introduction to Canadian workplace culture
  • improve your language skills and help to upgrade other skills; or
  • industry specific skills training;
  • provide connections to and assistance with regulating bodies; and
  • provide hands-on workplace experience through mentoring and other innovative approaches. 

80% of the participants who completed this program have found a meaningful career that uses their skills and training. Others have had skills upgrading and training to set them firmly on their career path. Will you be our next success story?

For more information on how get started with the Skills Connect for Immigrants program, please contact the Service Deliverer in your area. 

The BC Skills Connect for Immigrants Program is part of the WelcomeBC umbrella of services, made possible through funding from the Government of Canada and the Province of British Columbia.

Service Deliverers

North

Employment Connections
101 - 9907 99th Ave.
Fort St. John, BC V1J 1V1
Contact: Christine Bourgeois
Phone: (250) 787-0024
christine@employmentconnections.bc.ca

Hecate Strait - Employment Development Society

Hecate Strait Employment Development Society
208 First Avenue East
Prince Rupert, BC V8J 4M8
Contact: Lena Steinbrenner
Phone: (250) 624-9498
lena@hseds.ca

Immigrant & Multicultural Services Society
1270 - Second Avenue 
Prince George, BC V2L 3B3
Contact: Romana Pasca
Phone: (250) 562-2900
romana@imss.ca

Interior

Greater Trail Community Skills Centre
123 - 1290 Esplanade
Trail, BC
Contact: Karina Allis
Phone: (250) 368-6360
KAllis@communityskillscentre.com

NexusBC Community Resource Centre
102 - 3201 30th St.
Vernon, BC V1T 9G9
Contact: Rob Donald
Phone: (250) 545-0585
rob@nexusbc.ca

Pentiction & District Multicultural Society
508 Main Street
Penticton, BC V2A 5C7
Contact: Chris Hartt
Phone: (250) 492-6299
chrish@soics.ca

Vancouver Island

Central Vancouver Island Multicultural Society
101 - 319 Selby Street
Nanaimo, BC V9R 2R4
Also delivers in Duncan, Ladysmith, Parksville and Qualicum
Contact: Charlee Touchette
Phone: (250) 753-6911
ctouchette@cvims.org

Creative Employment Access Society
103 - 555 Fourth Street
Courtenay, BC V9N 1H3
Contact: Renee Friedman
Phone: (250) 334-3119
renee@ceas.ca

North Island Employment Foundations Society
870C 13th Ave.
Campbell River, BC V9W 4H2
Also delivers in Courtney
Contact: Carole Yole
Phone: (250) 286-3441
carole.yole@niefs.net

Island Work Transitions, Inc.
4805B Mar Street
Port Alberni, BC V9Y 8J5
Also delivers in Tofino and Ucluelet
Contact: Sarah Ethier
Phone: (250) 724-4560
Toll Free: 1-888-454-4560

Victoria Immigrant & Refugee Centre Society 
#300 - 637 Bay Street
Victoria, BC V8T 5L2 
Contact: Sukhmeet Grewal
Phone: (250) 361-9433
sukhmeet@vircs.bc.ca

Copyright © Association of Service Providers for Employability and Training (ASPECT)
975 Alston St, Victoria, British Columbia, (BC) V9A 3S5
Toll-free: 1-888-287-4957, Phone: 250 382-9675, Fax: 250 382-9677, Email: info@aspect.bc.ca
web site by: starglobal